OpenCFD Release OpenFOAM®  v2012 (20 12)


OpenCFD is pleased to announce the December 2020 release of OpenFOAM® v2012 (20 12). This release extends OpenFOAM-v2006 features across many areas of the code. The new functionality represents development sponsored by OpenCFD’s customers, internally funded developments, and integration of features and changes from the OpenFOAM community.

OpenFOAM is distributed by OpenCFD under the GPL license as:

Please refer to the download instructions to obtain the code. The development repositories are publicly available. These repositories are regularly updated with bug fixes and new functionality.




  • New run-time selectable geometry calculation more...
  • Improved particle tracking on moving meshes more...
  • Function1: new frequency or period input more...
  • Function1: new time limits more...

Solvers and physical models

Boundary conditions



  • New multiple world coupling more...
  • Improved redistributePar utility more...


  • Improved compiler configuration more...
  • Improved installation scripts more...
  • Rationalized mpi configuration names more...
  • Portability more...

About us

OpenFOAM is produced by the core ESI-OpenCFD team

  • Andrew Heather
  • Mattijs Janssens
  • Sergio Ferraris
  • Mark Olesen
  • Prashant Sonakar
  • Pawan Ghildiyal
  • Kutalmış Berçin
  • Roger Almenar
  • Matej Forman
  • Praveen Jaganathan
  • Chiara Pesci
  • Sebastien Vilfayeau
  • Karen Kettle
  • Ann Ronchetti
  • Fred Mendonça
  • Swapnil Salokhe

With wider support from the global ESI team

  • ESI Group (GmbH)
  • ESI Group (ESI Software (India) Private Limited)
  • ESI Group (North America)
  • ESI Group (Nihon ESI)

And contributions from

  • Ivor Clifford (Paul Scherrer Institut)
  • Brecht Devolder (DEME Group)
  • Thorsten Zirwes (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)
  • Alseny Diallo (ESI Japan)
  • Henning Scheufler (DLR)
  • Johan Roenby (Stromning)
  • Vaggelis Papoutsis (PCOpt/NTUA and FOSS GP)
  • Wenyuan Fan
  • Victor Olesen

Useful links