OpenCFD Release OpenFOAM®  v2006 (20 06)


OpenCFD is pleased to announce the June 2020 release of OpenFOAM® v2006 (20 06). This release extends OpenFOAM-v1912 features across many areas of the code. The new functionality represents development sponsored by OpenCFD’s customers, internally funded developments, and integration of features and changes from the OpenFOAM community.

OpenFOAM is distributed by OpenCFD under the GPL license as:

Please refer to the download instructions to obtain the code.

The development repositories are publicly available. These repositories are regularly updated with bug fixes and new functionality.


  • Help for users is provided in the user upgrade guide.
  • Help for developers is provided in the developer upgrade guide.
  • We have also initiated documentation on coding patterns to improve the understanding of some typical idioms, where the reasoning may not be immediately obvious or where there are advantages to using a particular approach. We are happy to incorporate content!


  • Improved blockMesh utility more...
  • New baffle creation in blockMesh more...
  • New ramp Function1 more...
  • New expression Function1 more...
  • New expression PatchFunction1 more...
  • New coded PatchFunction1 more...
  • snappyHexMesh: New controls to disable gap refinement more...


Solvers and physical models

Boundary conditions

  • New suite of atmospheric boundary layer tools more...
  • New wall-blending for low- and high-Reynolds number flows more....


Build system


  • Overhaul of OpenFOAM user documentation more...

About us

OpenFOAM is produced by the core ESI-OpenCFD team

  • Andrew Heather
  • Mattijs Janssens
  • Sergio Ferraris
  • Mark Olesen
  • Prashant Sonakar
  • Pawan Ghildiyal
  • Kutalmiş Berçin
  • Roger Almenar
  • Matej Forman
  • Praveen Jaganathan
  • Chiara Pesci
  • Sebastien Vilfayeau
  • Karen Kettle
  • Ann Ronchetti
  • Fred Mendonça
  • Swapnil Salokhe

With wider support from the global ESI team

  • ESI Group (GmbH)
  • ESI Group (ESI Software (India) Private Limited)
  • ESI Group (North America)
  • ESI Group (Nihon ESI)

And contributions from

  • ENERCON GmbH: Hamza Musaddiq, Michael Alletto, and Judith Langner
  • CENER: Roberto Chavez
  • CIMEC: Horacio Aguerre and Santiago Marquez
  • DLR: Henning Scheufler
  • Stromning: Johan Roenby
  • OpenQBMM Community, led by Alberto Passalacqua (Iowa State University)
  • PCOpt/NTUA and FOSS GP
  • Technical University of Munich/AUDI: Marco Kiewat
  • Norwegian Geotechnical Institute: Matthias Rauter

Useful links